March Madness takes place this week


Julian Mejia, Reporter

March Madness is a term commonly used to refer to the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I men’s basketball tournament, which takes place annually in March. The tournament features 68 teams from across the United States, who compete in a single-elimination format to determine the national champion.

The tournament is one of the biggest sporting events in the United States, with millions of fans tuning in to watch the games on television or attending the games in person. The tournament is known for its unpredictability and excitement with upsets and Cinderella stories often taking center stage like Saint Peter’s last year upsetting No. 2 seed Kentucky in the first round.

March Madness is not only a basketball tournament, but it has also become a cultural phenomenon, with many people participating in bracket challenges and office pools to predict the winners of the games. The tournament is a major revenue generator for the NCAA and the schools that participate with advertising and broadcasting rights bringing in millions of dollars in revenue each year.

The No. 1 seeds for each region is Kansas (West), Alabama (South), Purdue (East), and Houston (Midwest). The first four will be taking place March 14-15. The first round on March 16-17; the second round on March 18-19; Sweet Sixteen on March 23-24; Elite Eight on March 25-26; Final Four on April 1st; and the Championship game on April 3rd.

The Championship will be taking place at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas. These game can be viewed on TBS, CBS, and TNT.